Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Despicable Me

Released

Jul 08, 2010

Latest Home Video

Dec 14, 2010

MPAA Rating

PG

Director

Pierre Coffin, Chris Renaud

Cast

Steve Carell
Jason Segel
Margo Cosgrove
Dana Gaier
Elsie Fisher

Studio

2010 Universal Pictures

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: Despicable Me.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

Gru (voice of Steve Carell) is a super-villain who finds his despicable ways being challenged by three young orphans (voices of Margo Cosgrove, Dana Gaier and Elsie Fisher) that he adopts in order to carry out an evil plot.

Content Details

Why Is Despicable Me Rated PG?

Despicable Me is rated PG for rude humor and mild action.

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in Despicable Me...

Violence: It appears a child has been punctured when red fluid oozes out of a nail-embedded box she is caught in. Characters are shot, burned, hit by cars, electrocuted, cut off in traffic, bit by a dog and whacked with a hammer. A child hits a parent. People are shot with a freeze gun that encases them in ice. Children are put into a "box of shame" for punishment and verbally chastised. Characters steal items. A character is shot from a cannon. A man is punched, hit in the groin, smashed against the wall, chased by a shark and threatened with guns while trying to break into a home. A child holds her breath until she passes out. A child’s balloon is popped. A bird is shot.

Language: The script includes rude words for flatulence.

Sexual Content: A character makes photocopies of his bare posterior. Naked statues and a naked man howling at the moon are seen along with a picture of a baby’s bare buttocks (no detailed frontal anatomy is seen.) Dancing robots have prominent female features. References are made to crude bodily functions. Some scenes of embracing and kissing are shown.

Alcohol / Drug Use: None noted.

Other: A character invents a "fart" gun.

Trailers & Clips

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
G
AB G
MB PG Not Recommended for Young Children.Frightening Scenes.
ON PG Some Scary Scenes, Cartoon/Animation Action.
QC G
NB
NS
NL
PE
G

Canadian Home Video Rating: G

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Despicable Me...

Despicable Me releases on DVD and Blu-ray on December 14, 2010 in the following packages:

Despicable Me: DVD Single-Disc Edition

- Despicable Me on DVD

- The World of Despicable Me

- Despicable Beats

- Gru’s Rocket Builder

- A Global Effort

- Despicable Me Game Previews

- Commentary with Directors Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin Featuring the Minions

Despicable Me: Minion Madness—DVD Double Pack + Digital Copy

Disc 1:

- Despicable Me on DVD

- The World of Despicable Me

- Despicable Beats

- Gru’s Rocket Builder

- A Global Effort

- Despicable Me Game Previews

- Commentary with Directors Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin Featuring the Minions

Disc 2:

- The Voices of Despicable Me

- Super Silly Fun Land

- Digital Copy of Despicable Me

Despicable Me: Three-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy

Disc 1: Blu-ray

- Despicable Me in Blu-ray

- 3 Mini-Movies Featuring the Minions

- The World of Despicable Me

- Despicable Beats

- Gru’s Rocket Builder

- A Global Effort

- Despicable Me Game Previews

- Commentary with Directors Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin Featuring the Minions

- The Voices of Despicable Me

- Super Silly Fun Land

- Blu-ray Exclusive Features:

- Gru-Control - see the making of the film with behind-the-scenes footage and cast interviews with a PIP window

- Miss Hattie’s Top Secret Cookie Recipe

- pocket BLU - featuring the ‘Minion Me’ and ‘Minion Dominion’ apps for iPhone & iPad

- uHear subtitles

Disc 2: (DVD)

- Despicable Me on DVD

Disc 3: (DVD)

- Digital Copy of Despicable Me

Despicable Me: Four-Disc Combo: Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD / Digital Copy

Disc 1: Blu-ray

- Both 3D and 2D versions of Despicable Me in Blu-ray

- Commentary with Director’s Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin Featuring the Minions

Disc 2: Blu-ray

- 3 Mini Movies Featuring the Minions

- The World of Despicable Me

- Despicable Beats

- Gru’s Rocket Builder

- A Global Effort

- Despicable Me Game Previews

- Commentary with Directors Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin Featuring the Minions

- The Voices of Despicable Me

- Super Silly Fun Land

- Blu-ray Exclusive Features:

- Gru-Control - see the making of the film with behind-the-scenes footage and cast interviews with a PIP window

- Miss Hattie’s Top Secret Cookie Recipe

- pocket BLU - featuring the ‘Minion Me’ and ‘Minion Dominion’ apps for iPhone & iPad

- uHear subtitles

Disc 3: DVD

- Despicable Me on DVD

Disc 4:

- Digital Copy of Despicable Me

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

seven says: Jul. 09, 2010

What is TRULY DESPICABLE is that hollywood would come out with a movie like this.  Once again our kids are bombarded with trashy content.  Reading the review and details of this movie truly disgusts me, what parent WOULD want to bring their child to fill their minds with such garbage ?????

The violence is unacceptable - a child smacking a parent ? Children are put into a “box of shame” for punishment and verbally chastised. Characters steal items. A character is shot from a cannon. A man is punched, hit in the groin, smashed against the wall, chased by a shark and threatened with guns while trying to break into a home. A bird is shot. Dancing robots have prominent female features. References are made to crude bodily functions.

It’s clear that hollywood wants children to have no respect for their parents - its so evident turning on the T.V. or these kind of movies.  Hollywood wants to desensitize our children to violence, sex, disrespect for the family - anything they can do to corrupt young impressionable minds.  THAT is what is DESPICABLE here.  They picked the right title for the film. 

Whatever happened to those classic timeless films you COULD have your child watch ?  They are unfortunately non-existent these days.  The problem is parents spending their money to bring their kids to this trash, which will only fuel movie studios to create more trash.  DEMAND decent films that actually HAVE a storyline - or some moral message.  Until you stop funding this filth, they will keep popping this kind of trash out to our kids.  I refuse to watch this film, and any others that have descriptions such as this.  I also check out kidsinmind.com for additional details on movies.  You CANNOT trust these ‘ratings’ PG, PG13 - no way - most PG13 films are more like R rated, they always downplay the true rating.  Parents need to take more responsibility in researching what their child will be exposed to - and then make an informed responsible decision.

mrsvn says: Jul. 11, 2010

Thanks “seven”

Between your review and the excessive violence in Toy Story 3 (my rating = PG-13), I will definitely pre-screen Despicable Me before showing our children. 

Very thankful for this website!

TNT says: Aug. 13, 2010

It is obvious from the comment from ?Seven? that they have not seen the movie. I have and I found it to be a keeper! The Listing of ?violence? is just that, a list with no context. I could make a list of what happens in my house during the day and you?d think it was a horror flick (sis. sits on bro. and makes him say uncle, mom reminds daughter that bro. will be bigger one day, bro. calls sis. a meanie, daughter sticks tongue out at mom-with no context that it was in fun?..etc.) Road Runner is probably more violent. (won?t even go into Nickalodeon which is banned in our house) Diary of a Wimpy Kid is more crude and has real kids being afraid of more realistic things and shows a lot of bullying and the main character being a very not nice friend. I grew up with the Three Stooges, Abbott and Costello, Bugs Bunny and Road Runner,  the Saturday Creature Features and Vincent Price. The ?sex? content, again without context, doesn?t really tell you anything. There is the old joke of Xeroxing a fanny, of which the fanny in question belongs to a made up creature and only shows 2 yellow circles. The Boogy Robots were basic forms and the ?feminine parts? were metal cones. Your daughters Barbies are more realistic and get more attention. I?m more worried about Miley Cirus posing nude and her new clothing choices. HOWEVER, what I did notice, is the conversion of a despicable villain into a loving father and restored relationships through the redemptive work of unconditional love. What a way to start the conversation that we are ALL despicable until we are redeemed through the unconditional love and sacrifice of Christ and how he makes us New Creatures in Him!

TNT says: Aug. 13, 2010

P.S. Gru, the villain in question, was NOT the one who put the girls in the boxes of shame. It was the woman who runs the orphanage. Showing that Villains aren’t just the ones who look like they are. They come in all shapes, sizes and styles. Think of Little Orphan Annie.

Lauzon says: Nov. 27, 2010

I agree with TNT.  The violence was slap-stick.  Slap-stick is funny.  The Three Stooges figured that out a long time ago.  There were some sweet messages in this film.  The reviews tell you what’s in the film, but not always the intent.  Intent can make all the difference in a given situation.

petalumamom says: Apr. 14, 2011

My child is four and while we are big movie watchers, it’s difficult to find meaningful, quality movies that won’t traumatize our daughter or teach her bad words or inappropriate humor (but won’t bore us parents to tears, either).

That being said, Despicable Me is one of our family favorites.

If you are looking for a low violence, witty, fun movie that the whole family can watch, you’re safe picking Despicable Me. It has zero moments of intense drama (a la Finding Nemo shark scenes, for example), which we really appreciated since our daughter is so young.

Much like How to Train Your Dragon, this movie has an ultimate moral that will warm your heart and make you happy you shared it with those you love.

It’s a pro-family, pro-child, silly, harmless, good time for all - adults and children. Two thumbs way up.

petalumamom says: Apr. 14, 2011

Also, it’s a shame that “seven’s” long comment shows up at the top of the reviews for this movie. I hope that, if you’re reading this, you consider giving this movie a shot. Many of our friends were put off by the commercials featuring the little yellow “minions,” but those guys are barely in the movie at all.

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos