Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen

Released

Jun 24, 2009

Latest Home Video

Oct 20, 2009

MPAA Rating

PG-13

Cast

Shia LaBeouf
Megan Fox
Josh Duhamel
Tyrese Gibson and John Turturro

Studio

2009 DreamWorks Pictures and Paramount Pictures

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) thinks he's headed for college, but instead he finds himself -- once again -- caught in the middle of the ancient feud between the Autobots and the evil Decepticons. And just like last time (as shown in the prequel movie The Transformers) the war waged by these extra-terrestrial robots threatens the whole world.

Content Details

Why Is Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen Rated PG-13?

Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen is rated PG-13 for intense sequences of sci-fi action violence, language, some crude and sexual material, and brief drug material.

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen...

This action film may be based on toys, but is hardly children’s entertainment. Extended battle scenes result in huge collateral damage on public streets and communities. While we don’t see any graphic human violence, cars and buildings are blasted to bits. The robots, however, are not exempt from explicit scenes as they gush fluids from various orifices when they are attacked. There are no consequences for any of the violence—messes simply disappear and one scantily dressed, female character comes through the sequences unscathed. Sexual jokes and innuendo are heard throughout the film. Women at a university are presented in a very sexualized manner and posters on dorm walls show nude women with private parts discreetly covered. Dogs are seen in sexual situations and a robot mimics canine behavior with a human. Language includes a single sexual expletive along with many near-uses or substitutions of the same word. Crude terms for sexual anatomy, scatological slang and Christian deity are used. A woman eats a drug-laced brownie, which causes her to become inebriated and behave in a sexually promiscuous manner (this situation is presented in a comedic fashion).

Home Video Viewing Alternatives

Here are some ideas for home video titles that are related to Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen.

Actor Shia LaBeouf plays another character that gets caught up in ancient secrets in the movieIndian Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

This movie is part of a franchise that includes: Transformers and Transformers: Dark of the Moon The three movies are also available in a single package: Transformers Trilogy: 7-Disc Limited Collector’s Edition.

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
14A Frequent Violence.
AB 14A
MB PG Not Recommended for Young Children, Violence, Frightening Scenes.
ON PG Violence, Not Recommended for Young Children.
QC G
NB
NS
NL
PE
PG

Canadian Home Video Rating: PG

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen...

Home Video Release: Transformers Trilogy: 7-Disc Limited Collector’s Edition

Blu-ray Release: 31 January 2012

The Transformers Franchise releases to home video as a trilogy in a 7- Disc set. Bonus extras include:

- Blu-ray and DVD copies of: Transformers, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen and Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

- Plaque of movie images signed by Michael Bay

- More than 10 hours of special features

Release Date: 20 October 2009

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen: Two-Disc Special Edition on DVD is presented in widescreen with audio tracks in Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround (English, French and Spanish), along with subtitles in English, French and Spanish.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen: Two-Disc Special Edition on Blu-ray is presented in widescreen with 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio (English) and 5.1 Dolby Digital (English, French and Spanish). Subtitles are available English SDH, French, Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese.

Both versions include the following bonus materials:

- Commentary by Michael Bay , Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman.

- Featurettes: The Human Factor: Exacting Revenge of the Fallen, Seeds of Vengeance - Development and Design, Domestic Destruction   Production: United States, Joint Operations   Production: Military, Wonders of the World   Production: Middle East, Start Making Sense   Editing, Under the Gun   Visual Effects, Running the Gauntlet   Post-Production and Release,

A Day with Bay: Tokyo and 25 Years of TRANSFORMERS.

- Production Gallery: NEST: Transformer Data-Hub

- Deconstructing Visual Bayhem (Commentary by Pre-Vis Supervisor Steve Yamamoto)

- Extended ScenesB

- Music Video: New Divide by Linkin Park.

Features exclusive to Blu-ray:

- The ALLSPARK Experiment

- More NEST: Transformer Data-Hub

- Giant Effing Movie

- The Matrix of Marketing

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

P Heffner says: Jun. 26, 2009

I saw the movie with my 15-year-old daughter.  She took ME.  I’m okay with most sci-fi, and saw the prequel with my grandkids, which was pretty good.  This one, however, embarrassed me.  I don’t want my grandkids to see it.  The movie was not created for them.  In the midnight premier showing one saw who it was for—the 20’s who are stereotypical post-adolescent kids, endulging in their freedoms.  I’d say the review was very fair.  It I heard another stubbed-off “F—-in’” or “Freakin’” used as a well-practiced substitute, I thought I’d—- well, you get my drift.  The pair of wrecking balls referred to explicitly as establishing the location of the decepticon’s “scrotum” went way beyond all the hide-and-seek innuendo that preceded it.  Sad that the hollywood types with value-deficit disorder had so much creative input into the script.

Cadillac says: Jul. 01, 2009

I watched the movie and the special effects were amazing but I was very, very, very disappointed.  My kids will not see this movie.  The language is R rated in my view and completely unnecessary and it overshadowed almost every good aspect of the film.  I am thankful that I scout questionable movies before I take the kids.  If you see this movie, expect to hear every word in the book, several times each;  the “F” word was shortened to the letter “F” but used often and obviously in place of the other.  I would grade this with a D- and rate it R-17.

KMChambers says: Jul. 04, 2009

I saw this movie today with my sons. In truth, I took them both to the first one and was okay with it. But, Folks, the first half hour or more of this was quite frankly, soft porn. I am not generally squeamish or prudish, but this was completely over the top.

RosemaryG says: Jul. 17, 2009

My husband and I took our 9 and 7 year old to this movie and we were SHOCKED by the amount of swearing and blatant sexual content.  We tried to find parent reviews on it but we took them too soon after its release. There was FAR more inappropriate content in this sequel than in the first Transformers movie.  We cringed throughout the movie and totally regret bringing them.  I personally love this kind of movie, and we are not prudes by any means, but we try to shelter our children from exactly this kind of adult content.  As an aside I’d say it’s ok for 16 years and over.

sassysuz says: Aug. 06, 2009

I am so glad that I read ya’lls comments I will NOT be taking my 3 kids to see this movie.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!  I have a 13, 11, & 9 yr.  Thank you again and PLEASE keep review movies for all of us concerned parents!!!!

Gab&Dad; says: Oct. 19, 2009

This movie is not ideal for young children, although it’s hard to keep them away from it due to the marketing and general ‘playground’ exposure to it….  I did take my 7yr.-old son when it was in theatres, and he did enjoy it.  To me, it is overly bombastic with no redeeming value.  No particular content bothers me overly (I don’t find ‘robot violence’ disturbing compared to other ‘kinds), other than it just being so mindless!  See me review the movie with my father, at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRphYHvYR3I

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos