Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Cars

Released

Jun 08, 2006

Latest Home Video

Oct 29, 2013

MPAA Rating

G

Director

John Lasseter

Cast

Owen Wilson
Paul Newman
Bonnie Hunt

Studio

2006 Disney/ Pixar

Still shot from the movie: Cars.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

Lightning McQueen (voiced by Owen Wilson) is a little, red race car with big, bright ambitions. When he is accidentally detoured in the dusty town of Radiator Springs, Lightening meets the eclectic locals (voiced by Bonnie Hunt, Paul Newman, and Larry the Cable Guy) who try to help the hyperactive hotrod understand there are more things worth revving one's engines over than just speed.

Content Details

Why Is Cars Rated G?

Cars is rated G

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in Cars...

All the attention of being a world-class racecar goes straight to Lightening McQueen’s head. As a result he is rude to his pit crew and obnoxious with the other competitors. During a race, one car bumps the others, causing a major accident on the track. On a long road trip, a tired truck starts to fall asleep and nearly causes an accident. A gang of hotrods harasses other cars on the highway. A car tries to outrun a train at the crossing. While fleeing from the police, a car causes massive property damage and later tries to avoid the consequences. During a road race, a car misses the turn and crashes on the side of the road. A hippy van sells homemade organic fuel (referred to as freak juice). For entertainment, two cars go “tractor tipping”. An angry combine later chases them. There are some veiled sexual references and comments, among them a car flashes his headlights at another, cars cuddle up and kiss, and a car exposes its undercarriage. A character comments on a car’s pin striping tattoo. The script also includes some name-calling, near profanities and jokes based on misunderstood words.

Home Video Viewing Alternatives

Here are some ideas for home video titles that are related to Cars.

Herbie is a little white racecar with a mind of his own in The Love Bug. In an updated version, Herbie: Fully Loaded revisits the trackside antics of the little bug and his current female driver.

News & Views About Cars:

NASCAR at the Movies

NASCAR at the Movies

Sports fans are glued to the Olympics right now. But in a week or so the competitions will be over, the medals awarded and the athletes back home.

Read more

Lego Embraces Hollywood

Lego Embraces Hollywood

LEGO was different when I was a kid. The blocks came in a handful of colors and basic shapes. Wheels and gears were cutting edge. Instructions were minimal or non-existent. Or at least that’s how I remember it. My siblings and I would spend hours constructing our own version ...

Read more

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
G
AB G
MB G -----
ON G
QC G
NB
NS
NL
PE
G

Canadian Home Video Rating: G

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Cars...

Home Video Notes: Cars 3D: Ultimate Collector’s Edition

Release Date: 29 October 2013

Cars releases to home video (Blu-ray 3D/Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy) in a 3D version.

Home Video Notes: Cars Director’s Collection

Release Date: 1 November 2011

Cars1 & 2 are available in the Cars Director’s Collection (11-Disc Blu-ray 3D / Blu-ray / DVD / Digital Copy)

Eleven Discs:

- Cars (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)

- Cars Toon: Mater’s Tall Tales (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)

- Cars 2 (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Bonus Disc)

- Theatrical Short - Toy Story Toon: Hawaiian Vacation

- Cars Toon: Air Mater

- Director Commentary

- Nuts and Bolts: A Sneak Peek of Cars Land

- World Tour   Interactive Map

- Deleted Scenes

- Short Documentaries

- Set Explorations from the Different Cities in the Movie

- And More!

On April 12, 2011, Cars releases to Blu-ray in a Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo package. Bonus materials include:

Blu-ray Disc:

- Carfinder Game-Discover Hundreds Of “Car-acters”

- Mater And The Ghostlight Short - Now In Hi-Def

- Cine-Explore - For The Ultimate, Behind-The-Scenes Experience

- Deleted Scene - Traffic School

- Radiator Springs Featurettes

-  One Man Band Short

- Inspiration For Cars

- Deleted Scenes

DVD:

- Mater And The Ghostlight Short

-One Man Band Short

-Inspiration For Cars

- Deleted Scenes

 

DVD Release Date: 7 November 2006

Gentlemen, start your DVDs. Cars is racing into the home entertainment market packed with a lot of flashy accessories. Whether you chose the wide or full screen presentations, the disc offers a new animated short: Mater and the Ghostlight as well as the Academy Award-nominated animated short: One Man Band. Director John Lasseter shares his inspiration for the production. Also tossed in are deleted scenes and a Ratatouille teaser trailer. Audio tracks are available in English (Dolby Digital 5.1 EX and Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround), with subtitles in English.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

Spratley says: Aug. 23, 2009

I’m no school teacher, but the grading just doesn’t add up.  An overall grade of A when none of the categories are higher than an A minus?  Is the Disney lobby so strong that we can question a movie’s portrayal of drugs, moral responsibility and sexuality, and then deem it a grade-A movie for children?

Rod Gustafson says: Aug. 24, 2009

Spratley—if you check our Making the Grades information sheet (http://parentpreviews.com/company/making-the-grades/) you’ll learn that our grades are not averages. We look at content within the context of the message of the movie. In this case, the content in “Cars” is relatively mild, and we felt the positive character development of the “hero” made the movie highly recommendable. He learns about cooperating, respecting elders and living up to the consequences for his bad behavior.

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos