Underworld: Awakening parents guide

Underworld: Awakening Parent Guide

Release date January 20, 2012

Kate Beckinsale is back, wielding weapons and threatening the human race, as she reprises her role of Selene, the vampire warrior.

Why is Underworld: Awakening rated R? The MPA rated Underworld: Awakening R for strong violence and gore, and for some language.

Run Time: 89 minutes

Underworld: Awakening
Rating & Content Info

Please Note: We have not viewed this movie. The information below is a summary based on data gathered from government and industry sponsored film classification agencies in various global regions.

Why is Underworld: Awakening rated R? Underworld: Awakening is rated R by the MPAA for strong violence and gore, and for some language.

This additional information about the movie’s content is taken from the notes of various Canadian Film Classification boards:


- Frequent and prolonged portrayals of explicit violence (including decapitation, mutilation and shooting).

- Frequent non-graphic violence (including shooting, fighting, stabbing, beating, mutilation and explosion).

- Frequent portrayals of creature, gun, and weapons violence, some involving children (with blood, gore, and wound details shown).

- Detailed disturbing and offensive scenes, which may have an adverse psychological impact.

- Frequent detailed gory and grotesque images.

- Some scenes may frighten children.

Sexual Content:

- Limited embracing and kissing.

- Buttocks nudity in a non-sexual context.


- Infrequent use of the sexual expletive in a non-sexual context.

- Infrequent use of scatological slang, and mild cursing.

Page last updated

News About "Underworld: Awakening"

Cast and Crew

Underworld: Awakening is directed by Måns Mårlind, Björn Stein and stars Kate Beckinsale, Michael Ealy, India Eisley.

Home Video

The most recent home video release of Underworld: Awakening movie is May 8, 2012. Here are some details…

Underworld: Awakenings releases to home video on May 8, 2012>

Related home video titles:

This film is the fourth in the series. The preceding three are: Underworld, Underworld: Evolution and Underworld: Rise of the Lycans. Kate Beckinsale appears in another vampire flick, Van Helsing. And she plays a mere mortal in the family drama Everybody’s Fine.