Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Toy Story 3

Released

Jun 18, 2010

Latest Home Video

Nov 02, 2010

MPAA Rating

G

Director

John Lasseter

Cast

Tom Hanks
Tim Allen
Joan Cusack
Michael Keaton

Studio

2010 Walt Disney/Pixar

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: Toy Story 3.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

It is a toy's worst nightmare to be discarded by his or her owner (as we learned in Toy Story 2). And Woody and Buzz Lightyear (voices of Tom Hanks and Tim Allen) are about to go through this rude awakening when a college-aged Andy heads off to school and the pair, along with the rest of his playthings, are donated to a day care center.

Content Details

Why Is Toy Story 3 Rated G?

Toy Story 3 is rated G

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in Toy Story 3...

Violence: There are many perilous scenes in this film while the toy characters are locked in a daycare that is more akin to a prison. Children aggressively play with them and knock them apart. Battered and bruised, they spend the night trying to escape, depicted in dark scenes with scary music. Some characters are frightening looking, including an evil cymbal-clapping monkey and a large baby doll with one broken eye. Later, at a landfill, characters are about to be shredded and then burned, creating a very intense scene. Separation between characters may also be emotionally troubling for young children. An opening sequence features characters trying to save a runaway train headed for a bridge that has been bombed.

Sexual Content: A couple of vague sexual references are heard. A male character is seen without a shirt.

Language: The word "butt" is heard. A character makes a vague scatological remark.

Drugs/Alcohol: Nothing noted.

Other Content: Characters are gambling in one scene.

Home Video Viewing Alternatives

Here are some ideas for home video titles that are related to Toy Story 3.

This is the sequel to the highly successful films Toy Story and Toy Story 2.

Trailers & Clips

News & Views About Toy Story 3:

Toy Story 4 On Its Way!

Toy Story 4 On Its Way!

Rumor was that Pixar put the toys into the attic on a permanent basis after the finale of Toy Story 3. Now in a statement released yesterday (November 6, 2014) it appears the creators may be missing Buzz and Woody as much as we are.

Read more

Frozen Top-Grossing Animation Ever

Frozen Top-Grossing Animation Ever

Move over Woody and Buzz, Frozen is now the top-grossing animation ever.

Read more

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
G
AB G
MB G
ON G Some Scary Scenes, Cartoon/Animation Violence.
QC G for Children.
NB
NS
NL
PE
G

Canadian Home Video Rating: G

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Toy Story 3...

Home Video Notes: Toy Story 3: 3D

Release Date: 1 November 2011

Toy Story 3 releases in 3D on November 1, 2011. The package includes 3D Blu-ray, 2D Blu-ray, and Standard DVD Versions of the Feature Film

Home Video Notes: Toy Story Trilogy

Release Date: 1 November 2011

All three Toy Story movies are releasing together on November 1, 2011. The Toy Story Trilogy (in either Blu-ray, or 3D Blu-ray) comes with the following:

- Toy Story (Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

- Toy Story 2 (Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

- Toy Story 3 (2-Disc Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

The Toy Story 3D Trilogy also includes 3D Blu-ray copies of each of the feature films.

Click here for more details about "The Toy Story Trilogy" release.

Toy Story 3 releases to home video on November 2, 2010. The movie will be available in DVD, Blu-ray and as a DVD/Blu-ray combo pack.

Toy Story 3 on DVD offers:

- Cars 2 Teaser Trailer

- Day And Night Theatrical Short

- Bonus: The Gang’s All Here, Toys! Epilogue

- Buzz Lightyear Mission Logs: The Science Of Adventure (with NASA)

- Paths To Pixar: Editorial

- Studio Stories: Where’s Gordon, Cereal Bar and Clean Start

- A Toy’s Eye View: Creating A Whole New Land

- Alex Syntek (Mexican Music Video for You’ve Got a Friend in Me)

Toy Story 3 on Blu-ray includes:

- Cine-explore by director Lee Unkrich and producer Darla K. Anderson

- Beyond The Toybox   Commentary Track

- Beginnings with Michael Arndt

- Bonnie’s Playtime   A Story Roundtable

- Roundin’ Up A Western Opening

- Goodbye Andy

- The Accidental Toymakers Of Pixar

- Life Of A Short

- Making of Day & Night

- Ken’s Dating Tips & Lotso Commercials

- Dancing With The Stars at Pixar

- Game: Toy Story Trivia Dash

Toy Story 3 is also available in a Four-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy package:

This set contains all of the extra features available with the DVD and Blu-ray versions, plus DVD, Blu-ray and Digital copies of the feature film.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

NC Mom says: Jul. 06, 2010

Your review is pretty close to my own, but I would give it even lower marks for violence.  My teenagers liked this movie.  My husband and I found ourselves laughing at parts of it and cringing at others. My younger daughter found it very disturbing.  The violence the children at the daycare center inflict on the toys, that over the course of the other movies have become more like friends; the separation issues, the prison-like setting with scenes reminiscent of the Shawshank Redemption and the multiple violent deaths these friends all faced at the landfill were disturbing. Big Baby was so creepy, my 16 year old calls it the “Chucky” doll. The small children in the theater when we saw the movie, all left in stunned silence.  One little boy was crying uncontrollably.  My youngest daughter told us that she does not want to get this movie on DVD, or netflix, or see it during the free summer movies in the future.  It is not a children’s movie.  The animation was great and the references to other action/adventure/horror movies were funny for adults and teens.  You are right, I am not sure how it got a G rating.

mrsvn says: Jul. 11, 2010

Donna G’s review was accurate, although understated.  I read this review after my son (5.5 yrs) became very upset seeing TS3.  Had I read the review, I would have thought it was just the typical Toy Story shenanigans.  This movie should have been rated PG.  We actually chose to see Toy Story 3 instead of Despicable Me because of the crude humor in DM… Hindsight being 20/20, I’d prefer crude to terrifying any day. 

“dark scenes with *scary music* - The music set an overly frightening tone. Was the intended effect for TS3 to be a childrens horror movie??

“Some characters are *frightening looking*, including an *evil cymbal-clapping monkey*” - This monkey made my son cringe, cry, and actually scream once.  After his appearance, I had to hold him through the rest of the movie and shield his eyes when the monkey was in following scenes. 

“at a *landfill*, characters are about to be *shredded* and then *burned*, creating a *very intense scene*.” - Very intense is an understatement.  My children see these toys as living people.  They thought Woody & crew were about to be MURDERED!  My son had a very difficult time understanding why the purple bear wanted to KILL the others! 

“*Separation between characters* may also be emotionally troubling for young children.” - While this was the least frightening, my son seem tense when he knew that all the toys were in peril (at the day care and at the landfill), but they were being separated from each other.  Example: Mr. Potato Head going into the <sand>box twice, Buzz being turned “bad” when put on demo mode, the toys going out in the trash TWO times, etc.

Shall we also not forget that Buzz was kidnapped?  That was frightening. 

Until I saw the movie, I was confused as to why the theater (which was not full at all) had disproportionately more adults than children… many adult couples went.  After seeing the movie, I realize why… it’s NOT a CHILDREN’S movie, it’s an ADULT movie. 

My rating: PG or PG-13

jk1221 says: Aug. 10, 2010

Although I agree with Ms. Gustafson, I find her violence rating of a B- to be too mild.  As mrsvn says, this movie was not for children.  My 6 y/o daughter was sobbing at the end of the movie.  As was stated earlier, I don’t know how this movie got a G rating.  What were they thinking?  Young children that go to G rated movies take things literally, everyone knows that.  The children do think of the characters as being human in nature.  I was completely disappointed in what could have been a great kids movie.  If they wanted to play to the older crowd because of the two previous Toy Story movies, that would be fine…but, don’t drag in the little ones with a G movie rating. Pixar blew this one!

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos