Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Toy Story 3

Released

Latest Home Video

Nov 02, 2010

MPAA Rating:

G


Run Time:

103

Director

John Lasseter

Cast

Tom Hanks

Tim Allen

Joan Cusack

Michael Keaton

Studio

2010 Walt Disney/Pixar

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: Toy Story 3.

Read Review

Reviewed by

Overall A-
ViolenceB-
SexA-
LanguageA-
Drugs/AlcoholA
Run Time103

Making the Grades

Toy Story 3 is arguably the most eagerly awaited family movie of 2010. After the huge success of Toy Story fifteen years ago, followed by Toy Story 2 in 1999, it is little wonder the kids who grew up with these movies are anxious for another look at these characters. While I have no worries this Disney/Pixar animation will please this now almost grown-up crowd, parents of younger children may find this new adventure and its maturing storyline is more intense than their expectations.

Andy (voice of John Morris), the owner of the toys, is now 17-years-old and getting ready to leave for college. His mom (voice of Laurie Metcalf) insists he goes through his belongings before he leaves, suggesting he sort them into boxes labeled "attic" (for storage), "donations" and "trash." From the perspective of his playthings, which have been relegated to the toy box for a long time, this is a heart wrenching moment. The situation feels even worse when Woody (voice of Tom Hanks) is placed into the coveted "going to college" box and the rest of the gang are pitched into a garbage sack.

Although Andy intends to put the bag in the attic, his choice of packing container leads to a near rendezvous with a garbage truck. Desperate not to end up at the landfill, Buzz, Jessie, Mr. and Mrs. Potato Head, Slinky Dog, Rex, Hamm and Barbie (voices of Tim Allen, Joan Cusack, Don Rickles, Estelle Harris, Blake Clark, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger and Jodi Benson), choose instead to climb into the donation box headed to a daycare center. Meanwhile Woody, who is the only one who knows the unfortunate incident was all a mistake, follows behind hoping to convince the others to come home.

But the group is unwilling to accept Woody’s wild tale of accidental disposal, especially after they arrive at the facility and are greeted by a strawberry scented bear named Lotso (Ned Beatty). Introducing them to the horde of other toys that reside at Sunny Side, their pink host assures the new arrivals they will always be played with and never forgotten again.

Andy’s outgrown toys are convinced they have found a new home, yet Woody still isn’t comfortable with the seemingly perfect arrangement. When he insists on heading back, the others decide it is time to part company.

Woody begins his arduous journey believing his pals have found a better place, until he meets Chuckles (voice of Bud Luckey), an escapee from Sunny Side. The sad-faced clown explains the daycare is actually a prison-like place where toys endure torturous treatment by very active youngsters during the day and by night face the oppressive rule of the two-faced Lotso and his cohorts, including Ken (voice of Michael Keaton) and an eerie looking doll named Big Baby. Woody returns determined to free his friends, and the film transitions into an adventure on the level of The Great Escape.

As the plot delves into scenes of characters facing perilous situations, the focus of the script moves away from the jokes and fun displayed in the earlier movies. And this is where the great age divide takes place. Frightening characters (like a cymbal-clapping monkey employed as a security guard and trucks with prowling headlights used as guards) are coupled with life-threatening moments (such as a scene where the heroes are on the brink of death and grasp each other’s hands while awaiting their ultimate doom). These creative decisions are sure to make some families wonder how the movie managed to garner a G-rating from the MPAA.

Still, the production is likely to be all the older fans had hoped for. Highly imaginative concepts will keep their attentions engaged, while amazing animation and performances packed with real drama will have them forgetting they are really just watching pixels on a screen. Age appropriate audiences will undoubtedly laugh and cry for all the right reasons, while parents of wee ones may want to preview it first or wait for the home video release to avoid fearful tears.

Watch the trailer for Toy Story 3.

Hear
Review

Discussion Ideas After The Movie

Teaching ideas and topics to discuss about Toy Story 3.

How do you feel about Toy Story "growing up"? Would you have preferred a story that still placed Andy as a child? What were some of the creative risks taken in this new version?

How do our feelings toward inanimate objects change once they are given a voice and movement? Do you think this movie will make it more difficult for children to part with their toys?

Trailers & Clips

News & Views About Toy Story 3:

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
G
AB G
MB G
ON G Some Scary Scenes, Cartoon/Animation Violence.
QC G for Children.
NB
NS
NL
PE
G

Canadian Home Video Rating: G

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Toy Story 3...

Home Video Notes: Toy Story 3: 3D

Release Date: 1 November 2011

Toy Story 3 releases in 3D on November 1, 2011. The package includes 3D Blu-ray, 2D Blu-ray, and Standard DVD Versions of the Feature Film

Home Video Notes: Toy Story Trilogy

Release Date: 1 November 2011

All three Toy Story movies are releasing together on November 1, 2011. The Toy Story Trilogy (in either Blu-ray, or 3D Blu-ray) comes with the following:

- Toy Story (Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

- Toy Story 2 (Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

- Toy Story 3 (2-Disc Blu-ray + Standard DVD + Disneyfile Digital Copy)

The Toy Story 3D Trilogy also includes 3D Blu-ray copies of each of the feature films.

Click here for more details about "The Toy Story Trilogy" release.

Toy Story 3 releases to home video on November 2, 2010. The movie will be available in DVD, Blu-ray and as a DVD/Blu-ray combo pack.

Toy Story 3 on DVD offers:

- Cars 2 Teaser Trailer

- Day And Night Theatrical Short

- Bonus: The Gang’s All Here, Toys! Epilogue

- Buzz Lightyear Mission Logs: The Science Of Adventure (with NASA)

- Paths To Pixar: Editorial

- Studio Stories: Where’s Gordon, Cereal Bar and Clean Start

- A Toy’s Eye View: Creating A Whole New Land

- Alex Syntek (Mexican Music Video for You’ve Got a Friend in Me)

Toy Story 3 on Blu-ray includes:

- Cine-explore by director Lee Unkrich and producer Darla K. Anderson

- Beyond The Toybox   Commentary Track

- Beginnings with Michael Arndt

- Bonnie’s Playtime   A Story Roundtable

- Roundin’ Up A Western Opening

- Goodbye Andy

- The Accidental Toymakers Of Pixar

- Life Of A Short

- Making of Day & Night

- Ken’s Dating Tips & Lotso Commercials

- Dancing With The Stars at Pixar

- Game: Toy Story Trivia Dash

Toy Story 3 is also available in a Four-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo + Digital Copy package:

This set contains all of the extra features available with the DVD and Blu-ray versions, plus DVD, Blu-ray and Digital copies of the feature film.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments will not appear immediately.

NC Mom says: Jul. 06, 2010

Your review is pretty close to my own, but I would give it even lower marks for violence.  My teenagers liked this movie.  My husband and I found ourselves laughing at parts of it and cringing at others. My younger daughter found it very disturbing.  The violence the children at the daycare center inflict on the toys, that over the course of the other movies have become more like friends; the separation issues, the prison-like setting with scenes reminiscent of the Shawshank Redemption and the multiple violent deaths these friends all faced at the landfill were disturbing. Big Baby was so creepy, my 16 year old calls it the “Chucky” doll. The small children in the theater when we saw the movie, all left in stunned silence.  One little boy was crying uncontrollably.  My youngest daughter told us that she does not want to get this movie on DVD, or netflix, or see it during the free summer movies in the future.  It is not a children’s movie.  The animation was great and the references to other action/adventure/horror movies were funny for adults and teens.  You are right, I am not sure how it got a G rating.

mrsvn says: Jul. 11, 2010

Donna G’s review was accurate, although understated.  I read this review after my son (5.5 yrs) became very upset seeing TS3.  Had I read the review, I would have thought it was just the typical Toy Story shenanigans.  This movie should have been rated PG.  We actually chose to see Toy Story 3 instead of Despicable Me because of the crude humor in DM… Hindsight being 20/20, I’d prefer crude to terrifying any day. 

“dark scenes with *scary music* - The music set an overly frightening tone. Was the intended effect for TS3 to be a childrens horror movie??

“Some characters are *frightening looking*, including an *evil cymbal-clapping monkey*” - This monkey made my son cringe, cry, and actually scream once.  After his appearance, I had to hold him through the rest of the movie and shield his eyes when the monkey was in following scenes. 

“at a *landfill*, characters are about to be *shredded* and then *burned*, creating a *very intense scene*.” - Very intense is an understatement.  My children see these toys as living people.  They thought Woody & crew were about to be MURDERED!  My son had a very difficult time understanding why the purple bear wanted to KILL the others! 

“*Separation between characters* may also be emotionally troubling for young children.” - While this was the least frightening, my son seem tense when he knew that all the toys were in peril (at the day care and at the landfill), but they were being separated from each other.  Example: Mr. Potato Head going into the <sand>box twice, Buzz being turned “bad” when put on demo mode, the toys going out in the trash TWO times, etc.

Shall we also not forget that Buzz was kidnapped?  That was frightening. 

Until I saw the movie, I was confused as to why the theater (which was not full at all) had disproportionately more adults than children… many adult couples went.  After seeing the movie, I realize why… it’s NOT a CHILDREN’S movie, it’s an ADULT movie. 

My rating: PG or PG-13

jk1221 says: Aug. 10, 2010

Although I agree with Ms. Gustafson, I find her violence rating of a B- to be too mild.  As mrsvn says, this movie was not for children.  My 6 y/o daughter was sobbing at the end of the movie.  As was stated earlier, I don’t know how this movie got a G rating.  What were they thinking?  Young children that go to G rated movies take things literally, everyone knows that.  The children do think of the characters as being human in nature.  I was completely disappointed in what could have been a great kids movie.  If they wanted to play to the older crowd because of the two previous Toy Story movies, that would be fine…but, don’t drag in the little ones with a G movie rating. Pixar blew this one!

You May Be Interested...

Watch Newest Videos