Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Released

Latest Home Video

Mar 20, 2012

MPAA Rating:

R


Run Time:

159

Director

David Fincher

Cast

Daniel Craig

Rooney Mara

CHristopher Plummer

Stellan SkarsgÄrd

Studio

2011 Sony Pictures Entertainment

Still shot from the movie: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Read Review

Reviewed by

Overall --
Violence--
Sex--
Language--
Drugs/Alcohol--
Run Time159

Making the Grades

Release Date: 21 December 2011

Because we only review G, PG, and PG-13 movies at Parent Previews we did not review this title. For your convenience, we have provided some brief information about the film’s synopsis and content.

Synopsis:

Henrik Vanger (Christopher Plummer) lost his wife forty years ago. Unable in all that time to uncover the facts in what he suspects is a murder, he brings journalist Mikael Blomkvist (Daniel Craig) into the investigation. The reporter in turn enlists the help of an unconventional research assistant/computer hacker, Lisbeth Salander (Rooney Mara).

Of Special Note:

This movie is based on a book trilogy (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire and The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) by Stieg Larsson and Reg Keeland.

The series was previously made into three Swedish language films (Män som hatar kvinnor, Flickan som lekte med elden & Luftslottet som sprängdes), starring Michael Nyqvist and Noomi Rapace. All were rated R by the MPAA when they played in the USA (with English subtitles). The series releases as a trio on Blu-ray on Dec 6, 2011.

In 2011Sony Pictures Entertainment began making their own versions of these scripts for North American audiences, and cast Daniel Craig as Journalist Mikael Blomkvist and Rooney Mara as the tattoo-covered Lisbeth Salander. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is slated for release in December 2011and The Girl Who Played with Fire in 2012. There is no date yet for The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest.

Discussion Ideas After The Movie

Teaching ideas and topics to discuss about The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

You can find Stieg Larsson’s books (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Girl Who Played with Fire, The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) at your local library or bookstore.

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
18A Sexual Violence.
AB 18A Sexual Violence, Brutal Violence.
MB 18A Sexual Violence, Disturbing Content, Tobacco Use/Promotion.
ON 18A Sexual Violence, Disturbing Content.
QC 13+ Violence, Eroticism.
NB
NS
NL
PE
18A

Canadian Home Video Rating: 18A

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo...

The GIrl With The Dragon Tattoo releases to home video on March 20, 2012.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments will not appear immediately.

JonEGraves says: Dec. 25, 2011

This movie should be rated NC17 at the very least. There is an explicit rape scene, which is hard to recover from, two scenes with sex and nudity, implied oral sex, and a revenge torture scene. No one under 18 should be allowed to see this film.

bumsrush says: Jan. 05, 2012

This movie should be rated MB for its male-bashing, sexist content.

Evanstar813@yahoo.com says: Jan. 08, 2012

The anal rape scene of the young girl and subsequent torture scenes were very explicit and should not be viewed by teens under age 18 years.  The rating for this movie is very inappropriate at the “R” level.  I will no longer use or trust the MPAA rating system.

James M says: Jan. 25, 2012

I will now use this site and never trust the MPAA again because of this film either.  My wife and I walked out of the theater during the rape scene. An R rating was not sufficient in describing the kind of content portrayed in the film.

You May Be Interested...

Watch Newest Videos