Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Still shot from the movie: Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen.

Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen

Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) thinks he's headed for college, but instead he finds himself -- once again -- caught in the middle of the ancient feud between the Autobots and the evil Decepticons. And just like last time (as shown in the prequel movie The Transformers) the war waged by these extra-terrestrial robots threatens the whole world. Get the movie review and more. »

6

Overall: C-
Violence: D+
Sexual Content: C-
Language: D
Drugs/Alcohol: D+
Run Time: 150
Theater Release: 24 Jun 2009
Video Release: 20 Oct 2009
MPAA Rating: PG-13
See Canadian Ratings
How We Determine Our Grades

P Heffner says: Jun. 26, 2009

I saw the movie with my 15-year-old daughter.  She took ME.  I’m okay with most sci-fi, and saw the prequel with my grandkids, which was pretty good.  This one, however, embarrassed me.  I don’t want my grandkids to see it.  The movie was not created for them.  In the midnight premier showing one saw who it was for—the 20’s who are stereotypical post-adolescent kids, endulging in their freedoms.  I’d say the review was very fair.  It I heard another stubbed-off “F—-in’” or “Freakin’” used as a well-practiced substitute, I thought I’d—- well, you get my drift.  The pair of wrecking balls referred to explicitly as establishing the location of the decepticon’s “scrotum” went way beyond all the hide-and-seek innuendo that preceded it.  Sad that the hollywood types with value-deficit disorder had so much creative input into the script.

Cadillac says: Jul. 01, 2009

I watched the movie and the special effects were amazing but I was very, very, very disappointed.  My kids will not see this movie.  The language is R rated in my view and completely unnecessary and it overshadowed almost every good aspect of the film.  I am thankful that I scout questionable movies before I take the kids.  If you see this movie, expect to hear every word in the book, several times each;  the “F” word was shortened to the letter “F” but used often and obviously in place of the other.  I would grade this with a D- and rate it R-17.

KMChambers says: Jul. 04, 2009

I saw this movie today with my sons. In truth, I took them both to the first one and was okay with it. But, Folks, the first half hour or more of this was quite frankly, soft porn. I am not generally squeamish or prudish, but this was completely over the top.

RosemaryG says: Jul. 17, 2009

My husband and I took our 9 and 7 year old to this movie and we were SHOCKED by the amount of swearing and blatant sexual content.  We tried to find parent reviews on it but we took them too soon after its release. There was FAR more inappropriate content in this sequel than in the first Transformers movie.  We cringed throughout the movie and totally regret bringing them.  I personally love this kind of movie, and we are not prudes by any means, but we try to shelter our children from exactly this kind of adult content.  As an aside I’d say it’s ok for 16 years and over.

sassysuz says: Aug. 06, 2009

I am so glad that I read ya’lls comments I will NOT be taking my 3 kids to see this movie.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!  I have a 13, 11, & 9 yr.  Thank you again and PLEASE keep review movies for all of us concerned parents!!!!

Gab&Dad; says: Oct. 19, 2009

This movie is not ideal for young children, although it’s hard to keep them away from it due to the marketing and general ‘playground’ exposure to it….  I did take my 7yr.-old son when it was in theatres, and he did enjoy it.  To me, it is overly bombastic with no redeeming value.  No particular content bothers me overly (I don’t find ‘robot violence’ disturbing compared to other ‘kinds), other than it just being so mindless!  See me review the movie with my father, at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRphYHvYR3I

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only. Please log in below or if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments will not appear immediately.