login

Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Still shot from the movie: Easy A.

Easy A

Olive Penderghast (Emma Stone) is rumored to be an "easy woman." But in truth the teen is only pretending to be sleeping with her male classmates to improve their reputations. When she also begins studying The Scarlet Letter in her English class, she can't help noticing similarities between herself and the main character. Get the movie review and more. »

7

Overall: C-
Violence: B-
Sexual Content: C-
Language: D+
Drugs/Alcohol: C+
Run Time: 93
Theater Release: 17 Sep 2010
Video Release: 21 Dec 2010
MPAA Rating: PG-13
See Canadian Ratings
How We Determine Our Grades

Memphis Steve says: Sep. 20, 2010

In one scene the main female character punches the main male character in the genitals.

Memphis Steve says: Sep. 20, 2010

How did the punch in the testicles not get mentioned under violence or sexual situations in this review? It was both sexual and violent and in no way appropriate for any family film.

Rod Gustafson says: Sep. 21, 2010

Thank you for posting this. We always debate between too much detail and providing the info our readers want to know. Our content detail has been updated to include this.

musthavecoffee says: Sep. 26, 2010

A grade of C- for this film is simply too good. How can this film be rated PG13? Because of that rating, I allowed my child to go to this film with friends - and am thoroughly regretting that decision. Went to see the film with some girlfriends last night, and was horrified that my child had seen this movie. Particularly offensive was the way they made fun of teens who belong to Christian youth groups (playing off of the stereotype to an extreme), teachers having inappropriate relationships with students, a parent who discusses that she was a “slut” in high school herself then proceeds to demonstrate how high she can get her legs over her head (bragging about being a contortionist during sex) TO HER DAUGHTER.  :^(  But the pinnacle of disgust was definitely the bedroom seen where Olive is pretending to have sex with her gay friend, and they discuss things like the “smells”, spanking, sexual positions, and worse. There were a few moments where I laughed, but the only reason I stayed to watch the film was so that I could see what my child had seen. The film is worse than a C-.

Kerry Bennett says: Oct. 01, 2010

musthavecoffee, thanks for your comment. This is one of those films we spent a lot of time debating the overall grade. I agree that the content in this film is inappropriate in so many ways. The only reason we didn’t give this film a D is because we believe it does have a strong message about the misuse of texts and other communication devices to spread gossip. I think the film does an admirable job of showing just how quickly news can make its way through a school, whether or not it is true.  Hopefully young viewers who do see this film will think twice about forwarding malicious texts that come to their phones.

Fletch247 says: May. 16, 2011

There are so many banal shortcomings to this film it is hard to know where to start.
Why is it so hard for Hollywood to escape the trite and and get mired into standard plot themes. I thought these people were supposed to be the best and the most clever in existence.
The film started out with clever albeit standard teen themed narration by the main character explaining itself. A delightful scene with clever parents that could have developed into a delightful relationship.
The premise had all kinds of potential to deliver a variety of messages.  Instead it devolved into the same old tired Hollyweird themes of the overly buddy parents who are, of course, flawed down to a ridiculous scene with the chlamydia ravaged guidance counselor played by Lisa Kudrow who once again demonstrated her shallowness as an actress and most probably a human being.
Then of course we had the Christian baiting stereotypes for Hollyweirds amusement.
Why is it they just can’t escape these confining themes and keep one whole movie clever and inspiring while demonstrating the human traits of aspiring to reasonable heights. So untalented is it impossible?

PartyOn! says: Jul. 06, 2011

Dear Musthavecoffe,
“How can this film be rated PG13?” Really?? Have you ever listened to a teens conversations with his/her friends. THey curse they call each othe s-l-u-t-s and w-h-o-r-e-s as jokes. I am a 13 year old girl and this movie is so tame compared to some of just the conversations going on in school. THis movie shows real life people pretend to have realionships all the time and all the themes in Easy A are just about growing up. So if you want your child to be picked on for being nieve and living under a rock then ur not letting them grow up. its not fair.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only. Please log in below or if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments will not appear immediately.

© One Voice Communications Ltd. | About Parent Previews | FAQ | Making the Grades | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact