login

Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Still shot from the movie: Despicable Me.

Despicable Me

Gru (voice of Steve Carell) is a super-villain who finds his despicable ways being challenged by three young orphans (voices of Margo Cosgrove, Dana Gaier and Elsie Fisher) that he adopts in order to carry out an evil plot. Get the movie review and more. »

7

Overall: B
Violence: C+
Sexual Content: B+
Language: B+
Drugs/Alcohol: A
Run Time: 95
Theater Release: 08 Jul 2010
Video Release: 14 Dec 2010
MPAA Rating: PG
See Canadian Ratings
How We Determine Our Grades

seven says: Jul. 09, 2010

What is TRULY DESPICABLE is that hollywood would come out with a movie like this.  Once again our kids are bombarded with trashy content.  Reading the review and details of this movie truly disgusts me, what parent WOULD want to bring their child to fill their minds with such garbage ?????

The violence is unacceptable - a child smacking a parent ? Children are put into a “box of shame” for punishment and verbally chastised. Characters steal items. A character is shot from a cannon. A man is punched, hit in the groin, smashed against the wall, chased by a shark and threatened with guns while trying to break into a home. A bird is shot. Dancing robots have prominent female features. References are made to crude bodily functions.

It’s clear that hollywood wants children to have no respect for their parents - its so evident turning on the T.V. or these kind of movies.  Hollywood wants to desensitize our children to violence, sex, disrespect for the family - anything they can do to corrupt young impressionable minds.  THAT is what is DESPICABLE here.  They picked the right title for the film. 

Whatever happened to those classic timeless films you COULD have your child watch ?  They are unfortunately non-existent these days.  The problem is parents spending their money to bring their kids to this trash, which will only fuel movie studios to create more trash.  DEMAND decent films that actually HAVE a storyline - or some moral message.  Until you stop funding this filth, they will keep popping this kind of trash out to our kids.  I refuse to watch this film, and any others that have descriptions such as this.  I also check out kidsinmind.com for additional details on movies.  You CANNOT trust these ‘ratings’ PG, PG13 - no way - most PG13 films are more like R rated, they always downplay the true rating.  Parents need to take more responsibility in researching what their child will be exposed to - and then make an informed responsible decision.

mrsvn says: Jul. 11, 2010

Thanks “seven”

Between your review and the excessive violence in Toy Story 3 (my rating = PG-13), I will definitely pre-screen Despicable Me before showing our children. 

Very thankful for this website!

TNT says: Aug. 13, 2010

It is obvious from the comment from ?Seven? that they have not seen the movie. I have and I found it to be a keeper! The Listing of ?violence? is just that, a list with no context. I could make a list of what happens in my house during the day and you?d think it was a horror flick (sis. sits on bro. and makes him say uncle, mom reminds daughter that bro. will be bigger one day, bro. calls sis. a meanie, daughter sticks tongue out at mom-with no context that it was in fun?..etc.) Road Runner is probably more violent. (won?t even go into Nickalodeon which is banned in our house) Diary of a Wimpy Kid is more crude and has real kids being afraid of more realistic things and shows a lot of bullying and the main character being a very not nice friend. I grew up with the Three Stooges, Abbott and Costello, Bugs Bunny and Road Runner,  the Saturday Creature Features and Vincent Price. The ?sex? content, again without context, doesn?t really tell you anything. There is the old joke of Xeroxing a fanny, of which the fanny in question belongs to a made up creature and only shows 2 yellow circles. The Boogy Robots were basic forms and the ?feminine parts? were metal cones. Your daughters Barbies are more realistic and get more attention. I?m more worried about Miley Cirus posing nude and her new clothing choices. HOWEVER, what I did notice, is the conversion of a despicable villain into a loving father and restored relationships through the redemptive work of unconditional love. What a way to start the conversation that we are ALL despicable until we are redeemed through the unconditional love and sacrifice of Christ and how he makes us New Creatures in Him!

TNT says: Aug. 13, 2010

P.S. Gru, the villain in question, was NOT the one who put the girls in the boxes of shame. It was the woman who runs the orphanage. Showing that Villains aren’t just the ones who look like they are. They come in all shapes, sizes and styles. Think of Little Orphan Annie.

Lauzon says: Nov. 27, 2010

I agree with TNT.  The violence was slap-stick.  Slap-stick is funny.  The Three Stooges figured that out a long time ago.  There were some sweet messages in this film.  The reviews tell you what’s in the film, but not always the intent.  Intent can make all the difference in a given situation.

petalumamom says: Apr. 14, 2011

My child is four and while we are big movie watchers, it’s difficult to find meaningful, quality movies that won’t traumatize our daughter or teach her bad words or inappropriate humor (but won’t bore us parents to tears, either).

That being said, Despicable Me is one of our family favorites.

If you are looking for a low violence, witty, fun movie that the whole family can watch, you’re safe picking Despicable Me. It has zero moments of intense drama (a la Finding Nemo shark scenes, for example), which we really appreciated since our daughter is so young.

Much like How to Train Your Dragon, this movie has an ultimate moral that will warm your heart and make you happy you shared it with those you love.

It’s a pro-family, pro-child, silly, harmless, good time for all - adults and children. Two thumbs way up.

petalumamom says: Apr. 14, 2011

Also, it’s a shame that “seven’s” long comment shows up at the top of the reviews for this movie. I hope that, if you’re reading this, you consider giving this movie a shot. Many of our friends were put off by the commercials featuring the little yellow “minions,” but those guys are barely in the movie at all.

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only. Please log in below or if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments will not appear immediately.

© One Voice Communications Ltd. | About Parent Previews | FAQ | Making the Grades | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Contact