Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

Kung Fu Panda 2

Released

May 26, 2011

Latest Home Video

Dec 13, 2011

MPAA Rating

PG

Director

Jennifer Yuh

Cast

Jack Black
Angelina Jolie
Jackie Chan Seth Rogen
Lucy Liu
David Cross
James Hong
Gary Oldman
Michelle Yeoh

Studio

2011 Paramount Pictures

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: Kung Fu Panda 2.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

Life as a Chinese Dragon Warrior is all Po the Panda (voice by Jack Black) hoped it would be. However his awesome fighting skills are once again put to the test when a new and dangerous foe threatens the Valley of Peace and all of China.

Content Details

Why Is Kung Fu Panda 2 Rated PG?

Kung Fu Panda 2 is rated PG for sequences of martial arts action and mild violence.

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in Kung Fu Panda 2...

Violence: An adolescent character disobeys his parents and follows a life of rebellion. Genocide is depicted where parents and children are killed or separated (no graphic details are shown). Frequent animated martial arts battles include fantastical, gravity defying moves. Characters fly high into the sky, leap from buildings, and fall from massive heights. Only a few injuries and some implied deaths result. While these portrayals are hardly based on reality, the action sequences may leave younger viewers excited about replicating kung fu moves at home.

Sexual Content: None noted.

Language: No profanities noted.

Drugs/Alcohol: No drug or alcohol use noted.

Home Video Viewing Alternatives

Here are some ideas for home video titles that are related to Kung Fu Panda 2.

A pudgy panda who dreams of being a warrior gets a chance to prove himself as the Chosen One in the original Kung Fu Panda. Jack Black also lends his vocal talents to the vegetarian shark Lenny in the animated move Shark Tale. Gary Oldman, who voices Lord Shen, can be seen as Sirius Black in the Harry Potter Franchise.

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
G Violence.
AB G
MB PG Violence.
ON PG Cartoon / Animation Violence.
QC G
NB
NS
NL
PE
G

Canadian Home Video Rating: PG

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of Kung Fu Panda 2...

Home Video Notes: Kung Fu Panda 2

Release Date: 13 December 2011

Kung Fu Panda 2 releases to home video on December 13, 2011. The Blu-ray/DVD/Digital Copy Combo Pack includes:

- Filmmakers’ Commentary

- Sneak peek episode of the upcoming Nickelodeon TV series: Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness

- Meet the Cast

- Panda Stories: Inside the World of the Giant Panda

- Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Masters: An all-new adventure where Po and the Furious Five uncover the legend of three of kung fu’s greatest heroes: Master Thundering Rhino, Master Storming Ox, and Master Croc

- Kung Fu Shuffle

- Ni Hao

- The Animator’s Corner

- Trivia Track

- Animation Inspiration

Home Video Notes: Kung Fu Panda Collection (1&2) Blu-ray

Release Date: 13 December 2011

Also releasing to Blu-ray on December 13, 2011 is the Kung Fu Panda Collection (1&2). This package includes:

- Blu-ray copies of the movies Kung Fu Panda 1 and Kung Fu Panda 2

- Filmmakers’ Commentaries

- Food Network Exclusive: Alton Brown at Mr. Ping’s Noodle House

- Help Save the Wild Pandas

- Learn to Draw Po

- How to Use Chopsticks

- Meet the Cast

- Panda Stories: Inside the World of the Giant Panda

- Kung Fu Panda: Secrets of the Masters

- Kung Fu Shuffle

- Ni Hao

- Dragon Warrior Training Academy

- “Kung Fu Fighting” Music Video

- The Animator’s Corner

- Trivia Track

- Go With Po

- Po Around the World

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

jmsuperfem says: May. 30, 2011

I just saw this today with three of my five adopted children.  When I realized that adoption was a major theme, I started to cringe…but it was handled beautifully.  My children all know they are adopted and I feel like it was almost therapeutic for them to watch.

Pinewalker says: May. 31, 2011

I really enjoyed Kung Fu panda 2!  There are a lot of moral/life lessons to be learned in this movie.  The fight scenes and the emotional distress of Po realizing his goose father is not his real father, may be a bit much for the younger children.  But I would say 8-10 and up should definately be ok. 

It was a well told story and kept me engaged.  I thought they would go down the route of typical cartoon story lines with a prominent character dieing but the overall good prevailing in the end…but they pulled it in a different direction and I was pleased.  The kids (11 & 13) talked all night about how much they enjoyed it.

If you are strict about your certain faith some of the soothsayer scenes and themes of self realization/god within references may be an issue.  Thankfully there is no degrading references to other religions/faiths in this movie.  So, if you have grounded your children in your respective faith and taught them tolerance of other viewpoints, the movie as a whole shouldn’t be an issue.

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos