Movie Ratings, Family Movie Reviews & More!

The Hunger Games

Released

Mar 23, 2012

Latest Home Video

Aug 18, 2012

MPAA Rating

PG-13

Director

Gary Ross

Cast

Jennifer Lawrence
Josh Hutcherson
Liam Hemsworth
Willow Shields

Studio

2012 Lionsgate

Official Website >>

Still shot from the movie: The Hunger Games.

Get Our Full Review

Synopsis

Take old-fashioned gladiator games and modern-day reality TV programs and you have The Hunger Games. Set in a future time, this survivor show is televised to the masses. But getting volunteers to fight to the death takes a bit of forceful persuasion. When Katniss Everdeen's (Jennifer Lawrence) younger sister (Willow Shields) is conscripted, the older teen selflessly decides to go in her place.

Content Details

Why Is The Hunger Games Rated PG-13?

The Hunger Games is rated PG-13 intense violent thematic material and disturbing images -- all involving teens.

See Canadian Movie Ratings

Here is additional information on sex, violence and profanity in The Hunger Games...

Violence: The premise of this film revolves around a competition where two-dozen adolescents are forced to fight to the death until only one survives. They are provided with a variety of weapons (except guns) to accomplish this task. Scenes show teens maiming and killing each other, yet explicit details of blades and arrows puncturing bodies are shown on only a few occasions. Other combat scenes feature a rapidly moving camera or editing that cuts away to obscure violent details. Blood effects are frequent, including close-ups of gory wounds. Some teens band together and plan their offense. The coordinators of the event are dishonest and manipulate the rules of the game and emotions of the contestants. Animals are hunted and killed.

Sexual Content: A teen boy and girl have an obvious attraction to each other. Another teen boy and girl become fond of each other and eventually share a kiss. A girl’s clothes are removed as she is cleaned and prepared for public display, however very little of her body is seen.

Language: At least half a dozen mild profanities are included.

Drugs/Alcohol: An adult character is frequently inebriated. Other characters are seen drinking socially.

Home Video Viewing Alternatives

Here are some ideas for home video titles that are related to The Hunger Games.

Jennifer Lawrence can also be seen in X-Men: First Class and Like Crazy. Her co-stars appear in The Last Song (Liam Hemsworth) and Bridge to Terabithia (Josh Hutcherson).

Other Movies in this film franchise include:

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2

Trailers & Clips

News & Views About The Hunger Games:

Counting Down to Divergent

Counting Down to Divergent

I have two days to finish the book Divergent before the film comes out. Two days before I see what the hype is all about. While I may be reading more out of obligation, a whole audience of young adult fiction readers is eagerly anticipating the movie’s release—especially ...

Read more

6 Great Books on the Big Screen

6 Great Books on the Big Screen

Every author of young adult fiction likely hopes his or her book will be the next big box office success. Until that happens, here are six movies based on great books you can read with your kids.

Read more

Catching Fire Blazes to a New Record

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire set the box office on fire with an estimated $161.1 million dollar weekend according to Box Office Mojo.

Read more

Archery Catches Fire Outside the Theater

Archery Catches Fire Outside the Theater

Katniss Everdeen is doing more than just drawing audiences into theaters. Thanks to movies like The Hunger Games and Lord of the Rings, archery is also flying high.

Read more

Canadian Movie Ratings

BC
SK
PG Violence.
AB 14A Violence.
MB 14A Not Recommended for Young Children, Violence, Adverse Psychological Impact.
ON 14A Violence, Disturbing Content (Reconsidered on May 1, 2012 - Classification Changed from PG)
QC G Not Recommended for Children.
NB
NS
NL
PE
14A

Canadian Home Video Rating: 14A

Watch @ Home

Details on home video releases of The Hunger Games...

Home Video Notes: The Hunger Games

Release Date: 18 August 2012

The Hunger Games releases to home video with the following extras:

- Audio Commentary by Editor Stephen Mirrione, Visual Effects Supervisor Sheena Duggal and Sound Editor Lon Bender

- Game Maker: Suzanne Collins and the Hunger Games Phenomenon

- The World is Watching: Making the Hunger Games

- Letters from the Rose Garden

- Controlling the Games

- A Conversation with Gary Ross and Elvis Mitchell

- Preparing for The Games: A Director’s Process (Blu-ray Exclusive)

- Propaganda Film

- Marketing Archive

Add Your Comments

Commenting is restricted to members only.
Please log in below or, if you're not yet a member, please register.



Forgot password? | register

Please note: So we can maintain a website with content appropriate for all ages, we moderate all comments and will edit profanities, slanderous remarks and other inappropriate language. For these reasons, your comments may not appear immediately.

c5fam says: Mar. 23, 2012

Now That’s Entertainment!???

I just left a midnight showing where hundreds of teens packed into multiple theaters to watch the movie version of the now popular book they were assigned to read in junior high English. The anticipation was tangible as they waited to see how faithful the book was going to be to the movie, and if Katniss and Peter were all they had imagined them to be.

What they saw was hard core dehumanization. The fact that we find teens killing each other in big-screen gladitorial combat entertaining marks a new societal low. This is more than a movie, it is a desensitizing and trivializing of life and death as a form of twisted broadcast amusement. Best summarized from a line in the film, “just think of them as the other animals you hunt”. Our kids deserve better role models and food for thought.

lisa.allen@lcu.edu says: Mar. 23, 2012

My 14-yr-old daughter has been mesmerized by the trilogy for over a year. She has also gained a sense of empowerment as she grew to realize that the only way to defeat evil (in whatever form it may take) is to be courageous enough to stand up to it and fight it, even in the face of certain defeat. I’ve read all 3 books, and looking at them from the perspective of parent, reading teacher and librarian I’ve been able to come away with several different, sometimes opposing opinions.

There is no arguing the violence, suffering, and evil in the stories. On the other hand, neither can the courage, valor, and strength of Katniss and other characters be ignored. The opportunities for parents, teachers and mentors to discuss these stories and the parallels to our real world—children as young as 10 being forced to become killing machines in Africa, refugees being murdered as they run from cruel regimes all over the globe, devastating poverty, the list is endless—are invaluable. The only way the terrible things happening in our real world are going to change is for people to become actively involved in fighting those evils.

Without involvement and discussion, the Hunger Games can easily be dismissed as gratuitous violence, but as a teaching tool, it can teach many lessons, especially one very important one—that a single courageous individual has the power to change their world and to inspire others to join in that change.

The trilogy provides the full measure of the positive power of the story. The movie is simply the introduction to the “world” that Katniss and the other courageous characters must decide whether to passively accept or risk everything to ultimately change for the better. Metaphorically, it is very much like the world we now live in.

Emis4 says: Mar. 24, 2012

I do agree with OP lisa.Allen about the Positive aspects of the theme for Hunger Games. I think that the message is better conveyed by the book, though.  By hafting the movie focus more on the action and less on the backstory and character development, the movie falls into it’s own trap of becoming “blood sport as entertainment”

I took my 14 year old to the movie last night but had to leave due to uncontrollable sobbing.

I know “it’s just a movie”....I have read a lot of dystopian fiction, I can appreciate a dramatic battle between good and evil….but I was not prepared for how emotionally I would react to the child-on-child killing.  I found it highly disturbing.

I can only hope that our human values don’t let our culture stoop to the depravity depicted in this movie; sadly, though, I feel that it is all too possible.

PeaceHasBegun says: Mar. 25, 2012

On The Hunger Games film:  Sweetly packaged cruelty that is sure to satiate the appetite of the indifferent and the most unconscious of adults who clearly put the emotional whims of the children’s desires to see inapproprate film content over the more responsible role of being a parent and not the child’s friend.  This film is a glorious testimony to Hollywood’s far to often ability to cleverly package and mass market Schadenfreude (a German word meaning “to take pleasure from someone else’s suffering”)  to our curious children who have methodically been trained to hold the lowest of expectations relative to glimpsing a right of passage that is held to a model citizen standards.  Unfortunately, there a far to few Shepard’s of good conscious (especially in the Hollywood film, music and TV world)  to point the way to a more loving world that works for all.  What’s the real take away message of this film other than the world its a dog eat dog, only the strong survive world filled with cruel hearted adults and wealthy people who psychotically prey on the weak and there is nothing you can do about it other than survive?  Joseph Mengele and Joseph Goebbel are made proud by this film.  Parents who take their children to this film or allow them to go unattended should, in my opinion, consider turning themselves into the police for the careless and reckless psychological endangerment of those they are suppose to love and sanctioned to protect. A wise African Chief once said “You know when the soul of a nation (I’ll again insert “the movie,  music and TV industry”) is sick when the children are violent, the adults are bewildered and there are no elders.”  This film is proof positive of what the Course in Miracles states as its philosophical axiom “There must be another way.”

momoften says: Mar. 27, 2012

It is really sad how desensitized we Americans have become. Sitting in front of a large screen with surround sound with your children, teens and other adults to watch as entertainment, a human hunt is absolutly unbelievable. When your children start play acting this movie hunting, hurting and killing others you will have no one to blame but yourselves.  Parents, open your eyes and use your brains, start parenting your children.  This is wrong and should be stopped, not applauded and supported.  Sick minds write and make these kind of movies and you are stupid enough to pay to go watch it.

You May Be Interested...

Watch Our Newest Videos