Picture from Thor: The Dark World


Picking up the storyline after Thor and Marvel's The Avengers, this adventure finds the hammer-wielding superhero (Chris Hemsworth) trying to save Earth, the Nine Realms and especially Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) from the evil Malekith (Christopher Eccleston), leader of Svartalfheim.

MPAA Rating PG-13 for sequences of intense sci-fi action and violence, and some suggestive content.
Theatrical Release November 8, 2013
Director Alan Taylor
Cast Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston, Christopher Eccleston, Rene Russo, Anthony Hopkins.
Run Time 112
2013 Marvel Studios/ Walt Disney Studios Official Movie Website

Full Review

Why did we give Thor: The Dark World an overall grade of B? Read our full movie review for parents.

Content Details

Why is Thor: The Dark World rated PG-13?

Thor: The Dark World has a grade of B- for sex, B for language and C for violence. Find out why...

Latest News

Read the buzz, get fun party and activity ideas, and hear what we, and others, are saying about Thor: The Dark World. The more you know about a movie, the better equipped you are to make a good decision.


Looking for discussion ideas to talk to your kids about Thor: The Dark World? We got 'em!

Home Video

Thor: The Dark World is available on home video. Check this page for full information, along with alternative video titles.

Looking for something else? We've got some other home video titles related to Thor: The Dark World.

Trailers & Clips

Still not sure if this movie is right for your family? Watch trailers and clips for Thor: The Dark World.

Related news about Thor: The Dark World

Captain America Soars at the Box Office

Captain America Soars at the Box Office

Box Office Releases List of Top Grossing Movies for 2013

Box Office Releases List of Top Grossing Movies for 2013

Catching Fire Blazes to a New Record

The sequel to The Hunger Games is the best opening ever in November.

Thor Hammers the Weekend Box Office

Thor Hammers the Weekend Box Office

Thor: The Dark World failed to make it into the $100 million club.